The things he carried

15 Jun

I consider myself an experienced cyclist. I have been commuting on two wheels for over 30 years. But when it comes to bicycle touring, I am a complete novice. The closest I have come to a self-supported tour is when our family made a three day trip to the San Juan Islands via bicycle in 2001. We carried our clothing in backpacks, but didn’t ride far with all our stuff, just the short portages from ferry terminals to hotels. So I have been doing a lot of research (and clearly not enough shake-down, short-distance trips).

Fortunately, there’s lots of great stuff in books, blogs and videos. I joined a Facebook group dedicated to bicycle touring and bikepacking, and that has been extremely valuable. The collective knowledge of 26,000 members quickly separates wheat from chaff on any given topic. Knowing that I wanted to keep my load light, I sought insights on how to tour with minimal stuff. It’s easy to say “Oh, I can just add that, it doesn’t weigh much.” But ounces become pounds…

So I started a list, thinking about the weather and wildlife I would encounter along the way. Real minimalists say: “One pair of clothes to ride in, one to have washed and drying.”  “No need for extra shoes.”  “Forgo the camping stove — cold meals are fine.” “No need for a lock, just keep your bike close.” Those strategies may work for some, and my sandals and stove may become jetsam if I feel too overburdened on the road. But for now, I’m trying to balance weight with a modicum of quality of life.

I found several great packing lists from various blogs, and the best ones showed pictures of all the stuff. I gained an appreciation for the volume and diversity of things that would need to fit in my panniers (the bags that attach to the rack on the back of the bike). So as of today, my tentative list is here, for those of you interested: Jeff’s Bike Touring Packing List

To make sure I had everything, I spent an afternoon earlier this week collecting all the items I have curated over the past few months. Here’s what my burden looks like:

I decided to go with a couple of changes of clothes, some off-the-bike shoes, smart-wool garments and just one cycling jersey. A down vest and rain jacket will help me brave the colder weather in the mountains.

IMG_7611

Helmet, shoes, and clothing

 

Lightweight tent, sleeping bag and inflatable sleeping pad, along with a backpacking stove and “minimal” toiletries.  After talking to a friend who has camped in Glacier National Park, I got some bear repellent spray, well, because bears.

IMG_7612

Camping gear, mess kit, and toiletries.

I’m not taking a lot of spare bike parts, just some extra spokes, a couple tubes, and replacement brake pads.

IMG_7615

Bike tools and supplies

No SLR camera, which is something many touring cyclists carry. And no computer or tablet; my iPhone will have to do it all. Rachel bought me a lightweight solar panel charger for Father’s Day, and the wireless keyboard will help keep this blog updated.

IMG_7617

Electronics and (some) maps.

And it all fits in here. Honest. The green panniers hold a total of 42 liters, and the dry bag will fit another 15 liters. The string backpack is just for shopping trips and for taking dinner/breakfast supplies to the campsite. I’ll keep my snacks in the handlebar bag.

IMG_7620

Bags

Karin and I are going on a test outing next week. One of her co-workers has a farm on Whidbey Island, so we’ll ferry over in the afternoon, set up camp, and see how it all goes. A two-day outing may not help me determine what to jettison, but I’ll take aboard the confidence that my list is complete.

Leave a comment